Ramparts and fortified cemetery

Photos

Présentation

The first written mention of the fortification dates from 1298. A double wall enclosure called a fortified cemetery (900m in total length) enclosed the district of the castle which included the church, the cemetery, the bailiwick house (Amthaus), wells, probably 2 fortified houses including the current presbytery as well as at least 20 individual houses.

Access to the neighborhood was through the gate tower of 1405, improbably called Witches' Tower.  In 1489, the population of the castle district was estimated at about 100 people. The inner enclosure can be dated to the first half of the 13th century.  The outer enclosure can be located at the end of XIV, beginning of XV.

Since 2001, the insertion team "Tremplins" works on the site to consolidate and enhance it.
It is possible to walk there all year round and the Association des remparts organises every 2nd Sunday in June "La Fête des Remparts": nearly 400 people dressed up on the site (morning parade), medieval entertainment groups, equestrian games, games, medieval market, wild boar on the spit and other restaurants...

Prices

    Moyen de paiement

    Disponibilités et ouverture

    Availability
    Ouverture
    From 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
    Ouvert le Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday de 08:00 à 18:00
    Ouverture

    Customers' opinion

    Fiches associées

    A proximité

    PLAN MY TRIP
    To savour
    Discover
    Visits and discovery
    Services

    Ramparts and fortified cemetery

    Rue de l'Eglise, 67730 Chatenois

    SÉLESTAT HAUT-KOENIGSBOURG

    2 Place du Dr Maurice Kubler
    Maison du Parvis
    67600 SELESTAT

    Tel. +33 (0)3 88 58 87 20

Remparts et cimetière fortifié

Photos

Présentation

La première mention écrite de la fortification date de 1298. Une double enceinte de remparts appelée cimetière fortifié (900m de longueur totale) enserrait le quartier du château qui comprenait l'église, le cimetière, la maison du bailliage (Amthaus), des puits, probablement 2 maisons fortes dont l'actuel presbytère ainsi qu'au moins 20 maisons individuelles.

L'accès au quartier se faisait par la porte tour des 1405, improbablement appelée Tour des Sorcières. Plusieurs tours de défense flanquaient les enceintes. En 1489, la population du quartier du château est évaluée à environ 100 personnes. L'enceinte intérieure peut être datée de la première moitié du 13ème siècle. L'enceinte extérieure peut être située fin XIV, début XV.

Depuis 2001, l'équipe d'insertion "Tremplins" travaille sur le site pour le consolider et le mettre en valeur.
Il est possible de s'y promener tout au long de l'année et l’Association des remparts y organise chaque 2ème dimanche de juin "La Fête des Remparts" : près de 400 personnes costumées sur le site (défilé en matinée), troupes d'animations médiévales, joutes équestres, jeux, musiques et danses d'époque, marché médiéval, sangliers à la broche et autres restaurations...

Tarifs

    Moyen de paiement

    Disponibilités et ouverture

    Disponibilités
    Ouverture
    Du 01/01/2021 au 31/12/2021
    Ouvert le Lundi Mardi Mercredi Jeudi Vendredi Samedi Dimanche de 08:00 à 18:00
    Ouverture

    Avis clients

    Fiches associées

    A proximité

    Séjourner
    Déguster
    Découvrir
    À voir à faire
    Services

    Remparts et cimetière fortifié

    Rue de l'Eglise, 67730 Chatenois

    SÉLESTAT HAUT-KOENIGSBOURG TOURISME

    2 Place du Dr Maurice Kubler
    Maison du Parvis
    67600 SELESTAT

    TÉL. +33 (0)3 88 58 87 20
     

    RÉGION DE SÉLESTAT
    HAUT-KOENIGSBOURG