St George's Church (Eglise Saint-Georges)

Photos

Présentation

Restoration of the St. George's Church in Sélestat in progress - scaffolding present


In the 8th century, a Carolingian baptismal chapel was located on the site of the church, as part of an imperial complex built by Charlemagne. Charlemagne came here at Christmas time in 775 to pray.

It took no less than three centuries to build the church of Saint-Georges under the impetus of the local bourgeoisie, who wanted to assert themselves against the religious power represented by the priory of Sainte-Foy. The construction of the church began in the 1220s and was completed shortly before 1500. At that time, the original choir was replaced by a much larger sanctuary decorated with numerous stained glass windows, 55 of which are still original. The stained glass windows in the choir, some of which date from the 15th century, are without doubt the treasure of this church.

The Renaissance pulpit (1619) with its prominent Samson and two columns supporting the painted and gilded stone vat is the work of the sculptor Jerome Kruch, an exceptional work. The Rinckenbach organs date from 1895 and were restored in 1975 by Alfred Kern.

Because of its size, the parish church of St. George could be mistaken for a cathedral. However, this is not the case, as a cathedral is the seat of a bishopric, which has never been the case in Sélestat.

 
The western tower of the church

In the early 14th century, construction began on the western tower, which was completed in 1490 and contains six bells, the first of which, known as the "bourdon", is decorated with the Sélestat lion. At 60 metres high, St George's church is one of the highest religious buildings in Alsace, well after Strasbourg cathedral (142 m).

In the past, a team of watchmen was stationed at the top of the church to keep an eye on the surrounding area and prevent any fire from breaking out. They also had to ring the quarter-hour bell, which one of them forgot to do in 1886. One of them forgot to ring the bell in 1886 and was punished by paying a fine or spending a day in prison.

 
The crypt

The crypt of St George's Church was once a public passageway open on three sides: north, south and east. This passageway was designed in the 15th century when the new choir was built to avoid dividing the cemetery which then extended around St George's into two parts. The new choir was raised and underneath it a sort of vaulted passageway was built by Master Mathis. It is a vaulted hall with four ribbed windows falling on a heavy central pillar.

The passage was closed in the 19th century with glazed stone infills and converted into a crypt.

Rejoignez-nous sur les réseaux sociaux
  • facebook
Formules de visites
Free visit , Guided tour for groups with reservation
Effectif groupe
50

Ouverture

From 26/11/2022 to 30/12/2022
Ouvert le Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday de 09:00 à 19:00

Customers' opinion

Services +

Practical service
Group reception

A proximité

PLAN MY TRIP
To savour
Discover
Visits and discovery
Services

St George's Church (Eglise Saint-Georges)

Place St-Georges, 67600 Selestat

SÉLESTAT HAUT-KOENIGSBOURG

2 Place du Dr Maurice Kubler
Maison du Parvis
67600 SELESTAT

Tel. +33 (0)3 88 58 87 20

Eglise Saint-Georges

Photos

Présentation

Restauration de l'église Saint-Georges à Sélestat en cours - présence d'échafaudages

 

A l'emplacement de l'église se trouvait au 8e siècle une chapelle baptismale carolingienne faisant partie d'un ensemble impérial construit par Charlemagne. Ce dernier vint d'ailleurs s'y recueillir au moment de Noël en l'an 775.

Pas moins de trois siècles furent nécessaires à l’édification de l’église Saint-Georges sous l’impulsion de la bourgeoisie locale désireuse de s’affirmer face au pouvoir religieux représenté par le prieuré Sainte-Foy. Le chantier de l'église commença dans les années 1220 pour se terminer peu avant 1500. A cette période, le chœur d'origine est remplacé par un sanctuaire beaucoup plus vaste orné de nombreuses verrières, dont 55 panneaux sont encore d'origine. Les vitraux du chœur, en partie du 15e siècle, sont sans conteste le trésor de cette église.

La chaire de style Renaissance (1619) avec un Samson aux veines saillantes et deux colonnes qui soutiennent la cuve en pierre peinte et dorée est l’œuvre du sculpteur Jérôme Kruch, une œuvre exceptionnelle. Les orgues Rinckenbach datent de 1895 et ont été restaurés en 1975 par Alfred Kern.

Du fait de ses dimensions, l'église paroissiale Saint-Georges peut être confondue avec une cathédrale. Ce n'est pourtant pas le cas, une cathédrale étant le siège d'un évêché, ce qui n'a jamais été le cas à Sélestat.

 

La tour occidentale de l'église

C'est au début du 14e siècle que l'on a débuté la construction du massif occidental orné du clocher terminé en 1490. Dans cette tour se trouvent 6 cloches, dont la première nommée " le bourdon " est décorée, entre autres, du lion de Sélestat. Du haut de ses 60 mètres de hauteur, l’église Saint-Georges est l’un des édifices religieux les plus hauts d’Alsace, bien après la cathédrale de Strasbourg toutefois (142 m).

À son sommet se relayait autrefois une équipe de veilleurs chargés de surveiller les alentours et de prévenir tout départ d’incendie. Ils devaient également sonner les quarts d’heure, ce que l’un d’eux oublia de faire en 1886. Il fut donc puni et eut à choisir entre payer une amende ou faire un jour de prison.

 

La crypte

La crypte de l'église Saint Georges était autrefois un passage public ouvert sur trois côtés : au nord, au sud et à l'est. Ce passage a été conçu au 15e siècle lors de la construction du nouveau chœur pour éviter de diviser en deux parties le cimetière qui s'étendait alors autour de l'église Saint Georges. Le nouveau chœur fut surélevé et sous celui-ci, une sorte de passage voûté fut réalisé par maître Mathis. Il s'agit d'un hall voûté de quatre croisées d'ogives retombant sur un lourd bas pilier central.

Le passage a été fermé au 19e siècle par des remplages en pierre vitrés et transformé en crypte.

 

Rejoignez-nous sur les réseaux sociaux
  • facebook
Formules de visites
Visite libre , Visite guidée pour groupes sur RDV
Effectif groupe
50

Ouverture

Du 26/11/2022 au 30/12/2022
Ouvert le Lundi Mardi Mercredi Jeudi Vendredi Samedi Dimanche de 09:00 à 19:00

Avis clients

Services +

Services pratiques
Accueil / ouvert aux groupes

A proximité

Préparer mon séjour
Déguster
Découvrir
À voir à faire
Services

Eglise Saint-Georges

Place St-Georges, 67600 Selestat

SÉLESTAT HAUT-KOENIGSBOURG

2 Place du Dr Maurice Kubler
Maison du Parvis
67600 SELESTAT

Tel. +33 (0)3 88 58 87 20